It Comes In Waves

gratitude

Gratitude that is.

In my experience that is.

It arrives when I’m not expecting it, leaves when I’m not paying attention to it and returns when I most need it.

You see Sobriety has given me a life. A wonderful, busy, creative, worth living life. Sometimes I am so grateful I can barely breathe but fickle soul that I am, sometimes I lose my Gratitude for a bit and that’s when I start to feel like my tide is out.

Daily maintenance is the key to keeping my head above water in my Sobriety and this also applies to my approach to Gratitude.

Writing a Gratitude List is my favourite way of keeping my spirit afloat. At the end of a day I lie in bed and ponder over all of the things in my life I am gratfeul for then journal them in my favourite note book. There is something so solid about seeing them in black and white that even the biggest pity potty would be washed right out to sea.

My second trick is is to stay present. Dont sway from past to future. If I am feeling fearful or ungrateful I can close my eyes for 20 seconds, open them and just look around me to witness right there and then how much my life has changed in the past four and a half years. No matter what is happening in that moment, even if the waves are crashing all around me I have a choice in how I respond, and I can be thankful for everything that is in my life right now and more importantly for the things that aren’t.

5 thoughts on “It Comes In Waves

  1. Wonderful post. I love gratitude lists. I don’t always do them, but I do acknowledge them in my prayers or just in my head, as I am doing my daily things. For me, gratitude is also an action, and I do my best to show my appreciation or gratitude in however ways I can – either helping someone, or thanking someone, or just telling someone that I love them. It doesn’t have to be this largesse thing – just a simple thing is all that matters. It’s the giving spirit behind the act that is most important. And when do i find myself doing gratitude lists most often? When I am feeling self-pity, when it’s the poor me’s upon me. Then, even though I don’t feel like it, I write my list. Can’t say things turn around that very second, but it alleviates the self-pity and I start to right the ship.

    Having a choice in how we respond is a wonderful observation. that is all we can do, isn’t it? And as an active alcoholic, I would focus on the things I couldn’t control, and abandon those things which I could. It;s the opposite now.

    Great stuff – thank you!

    Paul

    • Thank you Paul I love what you said. It is the simple things that matter. And also I completely agree that the best time to write a Gratitude List is when you dont want to. It may not turn it around in that second but boy it does turn it around.

      I look forward to reading your posts 🙂

  2. I love the “staying present”- not swaying from past to future. Good advice for all. Your lessons learned in gaining your sobriety are applicable to everyone. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

